This is the "Home" page of the "SOC 100 / 101: Introduction to Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 100 / 101: Introduction to Sociology   Tags: sociology  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/sociology101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Library Guide for Sociology 100 / 101

This guide provides basic information on getting started with library research in the field of sociology. 

The Find Books and Media tab provides a brief description of the library's catalog CONSULS followed by a breakdown of sociology call numbers that shows the broad topics assigned to the various numbers.  There is also a short list of representative subject headings that can be used to search for books, DVDs, and other materials about sociology.  Please note you cannot look up articles in CONSULS.

The Find Articles tab has provides links to general databases, and then specialized databases. You will need to scroll down on this page to view all of them. Databases let you enter a topic to receive a list of articles that have been published in academic journals, magazines, and newspapers about the topic.  Many databases also provide that actual articles online. 

Library Database Tutorials tab lists many YouTube and other tutorials to help you see and understand our different databases.

The Cite Your Sources tab provides links to a a description of the American Sociological Association Style Guide and to a short guide that can help you document the souces of information that you have used for papers and projects.

The Reference tab provides a list of print and online reference titles. Print books can be found on the library's main floor in the Reference collection.  Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical compilations, and other sources intended to let you look up facts or obtain quick background information. 

Please note that this guide is not comprehensive, but rather as a pretty good, quick start for research help. The Library's reference staff is always pleased to assist you in the use of any of the library's resources and services and can help you with assignments and term papers.

Contact

Profile Image
Kris Jacobi
Contact Info
Head of Cataloging

J. Eugene Smith Library
Eastern Connecticut State University
83 Windham Street
Willimantic, CT 06226
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip