This is the "Home" page of the "Math" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Math  

This is a brief guide to finding information in the field of mathematics.
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2017 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This brief guide provides basic information on getting started with library research in the field of mathematics. 

  • The Find Books and Media tab provides brief directions about how to access the library catalog within the library's new information platform, Eastern Quicksearch. This is followed by a short list of representative subject headings that can be used to search for books, DVDs, and other materials about math.
  • The Find Articles tab provides an introduction to MathSciNet, which is the most important database for identifying articles and other materials about mathematical topics. This tab also has a list of math journals available at the library.
  • The Reference tab provides a list of print reference books about math that can be found on the library's main floor in the Reference section.  Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical compilations, and other sources intended to let you look up facts or obtain quick background information. 
  • The Websites tab provides a brief list of websites that are maintained by various math organizations and associations.  
  • The Cite Your Sources tab provides a link to helpful information about avoiding plagiarism.

You can search books, e-books, articles, and other materials all together with the Eastern Quicksearch feature. However, please be aware that you should SIGN ON to Quicksearch with your Eastern network credentials to gain full access. Also be aware that NOT EVERYTHING the library owns or has access to is included in Quicksearch. Don't forget that you can still search the individual subject databases (for example MathSciNet) if your Quicksearch results are not satisfactory.

Note: The majority of content included in this guide was developed by Sandy Rosado, who was formerly the library's liaison to the Math Department.  However, any errors or broken links are the fault of the present liaison, Caroline Davis.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Caroline Davis
Contact Info
ECSU Library
Serials Dept. (Library Office 426)
Send Email
Subjects:
Psychology, Math
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip