This is the "Information Literacy @ J. Eugene Smith Library" page of the "Information Literacy @ J. Eugene Smith Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Literacy @ J. Eugene Smith Library  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2012 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/il Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Information Literacy @ J. Eugene Smith Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Information Literacy and how will it help my students?

Online Form to Request ILI
Integrated Curricular Elements (ICE) Working Group: Information Literacy
Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Standards
Assessment
Recommended Readings on Information Literacy


Information Literacy Instruction (ILI)

The Library is committed to the development of information literacy skills within the Eastern community as an integral element of the Liberal Arts Core Curriculum. With this goal in mind, we offer information literacy instruction in the Library (in an 18 PC instruction room), throughout campus, and at off-campus sites when possible, based on available staffing.

Guidelines for Requesting Information Literacy Instruction

1. Priorities & Lead time

  • Generic Information Literacy Instruction (i.e. not course specific) requires one-week notice; 100 level classes receive an introduction to Academic Search Premier: a multidisciplinary full-text database.

  • FYI (customized for the discipline) requires one-week notice.
  • Additional 100 & 200 level classes requires one-week notice (choice of one database most relevant to your course; no customization to assignments)

    1. Project Muse (scholarly, full text humanities and social sciences database).
    2. National Newsstand (Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor and many other highly circulated US newspapers).
    3. JSTOR (mostly scholarly, full text humanities, social sciences, and sciences database).
    4. LexisNexis Academic (full-text database specializing in news, business, and legal research).
  • For 300-500 level classes, with sufficient notice (two-four weeks), we can tailor an in-depth instruction session to your curriculum.

2. Faculty collaboration

Faculty members need to be present during Information Literacy Instruction to:

  • provide definitive answers to questions specific to content or assignment requirements.

  • assist the librarian with students needing redirection or individual assistance.

  • reinforce that the session is integral to the course.

  • keep abreast of what their students are learning.

We have found that the presence and participation of their regular instructor help to keep students attentive and engaged in the presentation.

 

Who teaches ILI?

While ILI may be taught by your liaison or another Public Services Librarian, please request ILI sessions via Susan Herzog, the Information Literacy Librarian (X 54470), Janice Wilson (X 55550), or Carol Reichardt (X 55566). You may also use the online form.

E-mail and phone messages are checked several times each day; all messages will receive a response within 48 hours, except on weekends. If you don't receive confirmation for your request within 48 hours, please contact us again.


Assume Minimal Library Knowledge

Although many students are familiar with using some library tools (e.g., dictionaries, thesauri, the author/title portion of the catalog, Academic Search Premier), few really understand subject headings and most have never used the periodical indexes/abstracts or our extensive collection of electronic resources/databases.

Approximate Time Frames
Depending on the type of instruction your students need, the following time estimates are provided:

Accessing Information
Smith Library research (50-90 minutes)
How to find a book (15 minutes)
How to find a journal article (30 minutes)
Library tour (20 minutes)
Using the Internet for research (30-60 minutes)

Critical Thinking
Evaluating Internet sources (30-50 minutes)
Annotated Bibliographies (15 minutes)
Scholarly vs. Popular Journals (15 minutes)
How to Broaden/Narrow Your Topic (15 minutes)

J. Eugene Smith Library User Education Room Policies & Procedures

Mission
The J. Eugene Smith Library User Education Room (Library 263) is designed as a library classroom for Eastern Connecticut State University students and faculty.

Principles
Information literacy instruction sessions have priority over all other uses of the User Education Room.

Priorities for booking the User Education Room:

  • Information literacy instruction taught by librarians at the request of departmental faculty

  • Faculty-taught information literacy instruction sessions coordinated through the Information Literacy Librarian (limit two per course per semester)

  • Non-information literacy instruction sessions/meetings at the discretion of the Head of Public and Research Services

Scheduling
Departmental faculty may arrange for information literacy instruction sessions by contacting Susan Herzog, Janice Wilson, or Carol Reichardt. Reservations for information literacy instruction sessions are made on a first-come, first-served basis and confirmations are sent via email.

  • Departmental faculty may schedule an additional session in the User Education Room in order to assist their students with research. This additional class must be scheduled with the Information Literacy Instruction Librarian.

  • Departmental faculty who reserve the User Education Room are responsible for the room and any equipment in the room during the session.

  • Training is required for use of the User Education Room. Procedures for turning on and off equipment are posted and must be followed.

Policies:

  • Please inform library staff at scheduling if there will be any students with special needs (visually impaired, physically disabled, etc).

  • All cell phones and pagers should be set to vibrate or silenced.

  • Use of computers in the User Education Room falls under the ECSU Policy on Computer Use.

Equipment

  • Installation, modification or deletion of software is not allowed.

  • Faculty must contact the Information Literacy Instruction Librarian prior to class to arrange training/equipment refresher.

  • Please report any equipment malfunctions to the Information Literacy Instruction Librarian

  • There are 18 workstations available; the room is optimally set up for a maximum of 18-36 students.

Contact Information:

Susan Herzog                                      

Information Literacy Librarian                           

Extension 54470                                  
herzogs@easternct.edu          


Janice Wilson

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Extension 55550

wilsonj@easternct.edu

 

Carol Reichardt

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Extension 55566
reichardtc@easternct.edu

 

Introduction to Information Literacy

What is Information Literacy?
Information Literacy and Information Technology
Information Literacy for Faculty and Administrators

Curriculum & Pedagogy
Where can I find more information?: Association of College & Research Libraries ( ACRL) Information Literacy website, a gateway to and a gathering place for resources on information literacy, focused on improving the teaching, learning, and research role of the higher education community.

 
Association of College & Research Libraries ( ACRL) Standards

Many universities have adopted the Association of College and Research Libraries Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education

Information Literacy Competency Standards Brochure (PDF)

Information Literacy in Action

Reviewing successful models and using them as a springboard for developing campus programs is the most effective means of spreading information literacy best practice.

Assessment

Assessment Issues

The Information Literacy IQ (Institutional Quotient) Test

Recommended Reading

Information Literacy: Suggested Reading for Higher Educators

Information Literacy as a Liberal Art

Suggested Reading for Librarians

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip