This is the "Home" page of the "Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876  

350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2013 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/ean Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Links

Here's a quick set of links that you can use to access important library services.

 

Did You Know...

Need a quiet spot to study or a place to do work with a group? Go to the Circulation Desk and check out a key to a library study room.

The library's third floor is the designated Quiet Floor.

Each semester your Express Card has $15.00 on it to be used for printing in the library or Webb 410.

Like to read?  We have a Leisure Reading collection.  It's in front of the elevator on the 2nd floor.

The library is wireless - bring your laptop and find a space to work.

Welcome

This guide will assist you in using the database, Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876, which offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies. Providing unprecedented access to the nation’s early periods, Early American Newspapers, Series 1 enables researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia.  

Newspapers—the first draft of history
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views. In Early American Newspapers, users can limit searches to items that fall into such categories as news and opinion, election returns, letters, poetry, legislative information, prices, advertisements, matrimony notices and death notices. In addition, users can easily view, magnify, print and save items.

In cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society
The core of the collection consists of American Antiquarian Society (AAS) founder Isaiah Thomas’ own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and is supplemented by issues added by Thomas’ successors at the AAS. Numerous other institutions and historical societies have contributed to the collection, including the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard and private collections. This joint effort has led to the creation of a historical newspaper collection of unparalleled breadth and depth.

      
     

    If You Are Working From Off-Campus

    If you are using our databases from anywhere other than the Eastern campus, you will have to enter your University Username and password and select Eastern from the drop-down menu. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip