Sociology Specific Databases
Social Sciences Citation INDEX is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully INDEXES topics across the social sciences disciplines, including Anthropology, Public Health, Social Issues, Social Work, Sociology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, and Women's Studies. It indexes individually selected scientific and technical journals. You can find FULL TEXT access to articles via the Library's Article Linker. And you can also request articles through Inter-Library Loan (ILL).
SocINDEX with Full Text provides FULL TEXT coverage for hundreds of core and priority journal titles. It encompasses all sub-disciplines and closely related areas such as Anthropology, Criminology, Criminal justice, Ethnic, cultural & racial studies, Gender studies, Marriage & family, Religion, Social structure, Social work, Substance abuse, and Urban studies. Includes FULL TEXT for electronic books and conference papers.
General Online Databases
Academic One File (Gale) is a premier source for scholarly peer-reviewed, FULL TEXT articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.
AcademicSearch Premier (EbscoHost) is an interdisciplinary database which provides scholarly peer-reviewed, FULL TEXT articles for diverse areas of study, including social sciences, biology, humanities, education, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and others.
CQ Researcher includes in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report provides a discussion of the issue, pros and cons, background information, chronology, future outlook, a bibliography and links to related reports.
CQ Weekly is the complete source for expert coverage of the United States Congress, including the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity.
Encyclopedia Britannic Online is the online version of the familiar work. A good source for topics, history and websites on Sociology. Choose Search or Browse. Items to browse include a World Atlas; multidisciplinary, interactive Timeline, or Year in Review.
iCONN Newstand (ProQuest Newspapers) is a collection of 6 major newspaper titles including The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Hartford Courant. Newspapers include current news and events in the field of social work and social services.
JSTOR is an archive of FULL-TEXT scholarly journals in
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing FULL TEXT online access to over 300 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
Specialized Databases
American National Biography contains biographies of almost 18,000 deceased men and women, whose lives have shaped America; includes hyperlinks to association descriptions in The Oxford Companion to United States History (2001). Search for social workers, or by name.
Contemporary Women's Issues provides FULL-TEXT access to global information on women. Journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies are easily accessed on women in over 190 countries; bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, business administration, and political science.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive FULL-TEXT database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses; dating from 1990 to the present.
GenderWatch (GW) is a FULL-TEXT database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and NGO, government and special reports.
Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale) is a comprehensive resource that provides access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. There are FULL-TEXT articles on a variety of authoritative medical sources including magazines, journals, and newsletters, newspapers, pamphlets, Reference books, and links to many pertinent websites; including the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine; dating from 1980 to the present.
Health Reference Center - Academic integrates the FULL-TEXT articles and IMAGES of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Dating from 1981 to the present.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search ABSTRACTS from over 4,800 current biomedical journals
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait