Journal Locator
Search the ECSU Journal Locator to find journals that are available to Smith Library researchers, whether in print or online. For online/electronic sources, enter the title of the journal that you want to find and follow the links to the right volume and issue in one of the Library's full text research databases or some in some cases on the publisher's web site.
For a list of peer-reviewed, open access journals in business and economics, freely available on the Internet, see the listing provided the Directory of Open Access Journals at http://www.doaj.org/ljbs?cpid=18. The library also has access to JSTOR, which is a collection of traditional academic journals that been converted to electronic format. You can browse the issues of JSTOR as you would a traditional, printed, journal issues. There are many business and economics journals in JSTOR. This link will take you to a subject breakdown of journal in JSTOR - JSTOR subject divisions
If the business/economics journal or periodical you need is owned by the Library in print, you will find current issues (published within the past year) of journals and magazines shelved in the Current Periodical Room on the 2nd (main) floor of the library. Older issues, either bound print or microform, shelved on the 1st floor. Periodicals are shelved in alphabetical order by title, whether they are in the microform cabinets, bound in the print periodical stacks or in the Current Periodical Room. In addition to using the journal locator you can also do a journal title search in the online catalog to determine if ECSU or any of the other CSU libraries owns a subscription (print or electronic) to a journal or magazine that you want.
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan
Link to ECSU ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Service
To request an item through Interlibrary Loan, you must first identify yourself to the J. Eugene Smith Library's ILLiad system. To do this you fill out a registration form using your Web browser.
Registration has three purposes:
- Entering your personal information into the ILLiad system means you will not have to supply the information again when making future requests.
- Having your e-mail and regular mail addresses on file with Interlibrary Loan enables us to notify you promptly and deliver materials accurately when your request arrives in the library.
- By specifying a Username and Password of your choosing, you will have secure access to information about your requests. You will also be able to review the list of items you have requested in the past.
During registration, you will be asked to choose a Username and Password. You will use this Username and Password when logging on to the ILLiad system in the future.
Choose any username you like, such as your name, abbreviations, or an alphanumeric code. We strongly recommend you use the same username you use to logon to ECSU computers and access your campus email. This is usually your last name immediately followed by your first initial.
Choose any password you like. We recommend that you follow good security practice and choose a password that is different from those you use to access other systems. ILLiad will encrypt your password, so it will remain secure. Only you will know your password.
Business and Economics Databases
Find articles by searching in an indexing database. These databases allow you to search for articles by keyword, author, title, subject heading and various specialized search fields (NAICS, SIC codes for example), usually in any combination. Most of these databases provide many articles in full text, either Portable Document Format (pdf), Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) or plain text. Some databases simply provide citations - the journal title, volume, issue, page numbers and date - that tell where an article was published. The following databases are recommended for business and economics:
ABI Inform - company profiles through
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) - company profiles through Datamonitor, lots of full text articles on a wide variety of business and economics topics.
Business and Company Resource Center (Gale) - articles, company and industry profiles, financial statements.
Business and Industry (First Search) - citations only, short newswire articles.
Business and Management Practice (First Search) - citations only.
ECON Lit (First Search) - citations only for academic economics sources, sponsored by the American Economics Association.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Search - legal reference section, business news from around the world, company profiles, country profiles, financial statements, accounting articles full text.
MarketResearch.com - MarketResearch.com Academic reports offer quantitative and qualitative analysis of the market for a wide variety of businesses.
Mergent Online - Detailed financial data for over 35,000 active and inactive over 15,000 U.S. and about 17,000 international companies . . . business ratios, historical information, SEC filings and US annual reports public U.S. companies, as well as international company data for approximately 17,000 companies, including international annual reports, FactSheets, and country information.
Plunkett Research Online - Company, industry, and trade association data over a broad range of business sectors.
Reference USA - An international business directory with links to financial information for publically traded companies and the capability to produce direct marketing information.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) - C
STAT-USA - includes two related databases: State of the Nation for domestic economic data and GLOBUS for international trade, business and economics.
General article databases that might be useful for business and economics include:
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - lots of full text, broad in scope
Academic ASAP (Gale) - lots of full text, broad in scope
Article First (First Search) - very broad in scope, but citations only
JSTOR - full text of classic journals in a wide range of disciplines but usually excludes the current 3-5 years for included titles.
These databases focus on fields related to business and economics:
Congressional Quarterly - News and analysis of pending and upcoming legislative issues.
Congressional Researcher - reports on current, controversial issues, including pro/con discussions of social, economic, environmental and political topics.
GPO (Government Publications Online) -
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait