Best Databases for Music I
Music-specific Databases
- Classical Music Library (on-campus only) "Classical Music Library is an ever-growing, fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to on the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Unlike other resources on the Web, Classical Music Library is the only audio service developed exclusively with the needs of librarians in mind. It’s also
- Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online) is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
- SmithsonianGlobal Sound (on-campus only) This database is a virtual encyclopedia of the world’s musical and aural traditions. It includes over 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. The collection also encompasses world music archives, topics in history, readings, and a children’s collection.
Best Databases for Music II
General Databases (which include information on Music)
- Academic Search Premier An interdisciplinary database which covers the humanities, and includes full-text articles to over 4,595 periodicals.
- American National Biography Contains biographies of almost 18,000 deceased men and women, whose lives have shaped America. Search music personalities by choosing "Occupations" - "Performing Arts".
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Covers journals in communication and mass media. Some coverage of music primarily as it relates to mass media.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online version of the familiar work. A good source for introductory music research.
- iCONN Newsstand A collection of 6 major newspaper titles including the New York Times, the L.A. Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Christian Science Monitor, and the Hartford Courant. Newspapers include current news about the music industry and performances.
- In the First Person An index to English language personal narratives allowing users to perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. Includes various comments about music personalities.
- JSTOR JSTOR is an archive of core scholarly journals in cross-disciplinary fields such as anthropology, economics, mathematics, and the arts and sciences. Our collection includes the Music Collection, containing the complete back runs of thirty-two titles dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music, searched seamlessly from the initial JSTOR search box.
- Project Muse Full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals in history and the humanities.
- WorldCat Search the libraries of the world for theater topics; request the books through Smith Library inter-library loan!
Music Journals
Journal Titles for Browsing
You'll find current issues of these titles and more in our current periodical reading room (Floor 2).
Journal of Research in Music Education
Computer Music Journal (online)
How to Find a Journal
Suppose you have identified an article that you want to read, and know the journal and issue where it was published, but don't know if the library has the journal. The ECSU Journal Locator can tell you if the library has a subscription in print or online format. When you have online access, the Journal Locator provides a link to a list of issues.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait