Best Databases for Film
General Databases (which include information on Film)
- Academic Search Premier An interdisciplinary database which covers the humanities, and includes full-text articles to over 4,595 periodicals.
- America: History and Life Articles relating to historical and cultural aspects of film in the U.S. - some full-text. Try a general search for "film".
- American National Biography Contains biographies of almost 18,000 deceased men and women, whose lives have shaped America. Search film personalities by choosing "Occupations" - "Performing Arts".
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online version of the familiar work. A good source for introductory film research.
- iCONN Newsstand A collection of 6 major newspaper titles including the New York Times, the L.A. Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Christian Science Monitor, and the Hartford Courant. Newspapers include current news about the film industry, as well as reviews.
- In the First Person An index to English language personal narratives allowing users to perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. Includes various comments about film personalities.
- JSTOR JSTOR is an archive of core scholarly journals in cross-disciplinary fields such as anthropology, economics, mathematics, and the arts and sciences. Our collection includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, and VII collections, which are searched from the initial JSTOR search box seamlessly. Film related topics are included.
- Theatre in Video A resource that includes streaming video of 250 complete performances of classic plays, as well as 100 documentaries relating to these works.
- WorldCat Search the libraries of the world for dance topics; request the books through Smith Library inter-library loan!
Film Journals
Journal Titles for Browsing
You'll find current issues of these titles and more in our current periodical reading room (Floor 2).
How to Find a Journal
Suppose you have identified an article that you want to read, and know the journal and issue where it was published, but don't know if the library has the journal. The ECSU Journal Locator can tell you if the library has a subscription in print or online format. When you have online access, the Journal Locator provides a link to a list of issues.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait