Finding Journal Articles
First: find articles by searching in an
indexing database. In addition to articles, these databases also include
references to book reviews and to essays that are included in anthologies.
Some useful databases for geographers include:
- Academic
Search Premier: This big research database covers many topics, including
geography. It includes full-text
articles from some journals and citations to articles from others.
General article databases that might
be useful for geography include:
- ArticleFirst and FirstSearch: These are collections of databases that
include citations to a wide range of scholarly resources. Click on the “Databases” link
in the upper left of the search page to see the full list.
Other general databases or those focused
on related fields will also include articles of interest to geographers. For example, for a study of feminist issues
in geography, Gender
Watch could be useful; or for a paper on social theory and geography,
try SocIndex. See the full A to
Z List of databases for other ideas.
Citations vs. Full-text: These databases might include citations
(references to articles), abstracts of articles, or the full-text of articles.
If you do not find the full-text in electronic form right way, save the citations
and then use:
This tool lists all journals that are available to Smith Library researchers. all whether in print or online. For online/electronic sources, follow the links to the right volume and issue.
Geography Journals in Print
Current issues of journals and magazines
are shelved on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, and older,
bound, issues and microforms (microfiche or microfilm) are on the 1st floor, behind the
Some philosophy journals to browse:
Geografiska annaler.
Geographical : the Royal Geographical Society magazine
National geographic
The Journal of geography
Geography Journals Online
Many of our electronic databases include
articles of interest to geographers. The library also has access to JSTOR, which is a collection of traditional academic journals that
been converted to electronic format. There are currently seventeen philosophy
journals in JSTOR. See JSTOR Geography
Journals. You can browse JSTOR as you
might print journals on a shelf, or use the search function.
To find other electronic versions of
geography journals, search the ECSU Journal
Locator for “geography.” Some
journals available in full-text from Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, or other
sources include Applied Geography, Economic Geography, Focus on Geography, and the Journal
of Cultural Geography.
For a list of peer-reviewed, open access
journals in geography, freely available on the Internet, see the listing provided
the Directory of Open Access Journals at http://www.doaj.org/ljbs?cpid=83 .
This directory currently lists 13 titles in physical geography; for cultural
or social issues in geography, see the listings under social sciences at http://www.doaj.org/ljbs?cpid=87.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait