Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Performing Arts - Theater  Tags: theater drama performing_arts  

Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  

Best Databases for Theater I

Theater-specific Databases

  • Theatre in Video  
    A resource that includes streaming video of 250 complete performances of classic plays, as well as 100 documentaries relating to these works.

Best Databases for Theater II

General Databases (which include information on Theater)

  • Academic Search Premier  
    An interdisciplinary database which covers the humanities, and includes full-text articles to over 4,595 periodicals.
  • American National Biography  
    Contains biographies of almost 18,000 deceased men and women, whose lives have shaped America. Search dance personalities by choosing "Occupations" - "Performing Arts".
  • Arts & Humanities Search  
    Access to bibliographic information and citation references from leading arts and humanities journals.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica  
    Online version of the familiar work; a good source for general theater research.
  • iCONN Newsstand  
    A collection of 6 major newspaper titles including the New York Times, the L.A. Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Christian Science Monitor, and the Hartford Courant. Newspapers include reviews of theater productions.
  • In the First Person  
    An index to English language personal narratives allowing users to perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. Includes various comments about theater personalities.
  • JSTOR  
    JSTOR is an archive of core scholarly journals in cross-disciplinary fields such as anthropology, economics, mathematics, and the arts and sciences. Our collection includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, and VII collections, which are searched from the initial JSTOR search box seamlessly. Theatre related topics are included.
  • Project Muse  
    Full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals in history and the humanities.
  • WorldCat  
    Search the libraries of the world for theater topics; request the books through Smith Library inter-library loan!

Best Databases for Theater III

Subject Specific Databases (which cross-over into theater topics)

  • Contemporary Authors  
    Contains biographical and bibliographic information on approximately 112,000 American and international authors, including modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. (Choose tab for "Contemporary Authors".)
  • Contemporary Literature Criticism  
    A collection of critical essays about the works of more than 600 significant American and international authors, as well as their biographical information. (Choose tab for "Contemporary Literary Criticism".)
  • Oxford Art Online  
    A good source for information on architectural details and ornament, costumes and interior design (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art).
  • Humanities International Index  
    Covers indexing and abstracting for over 2,000 journals in the humanities.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
    An index to critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage from 1963-current. A good source for play criticism, and bio-critical articles on playwrights.

Theater Journals

Journal Titles for Browsing

You'll find current issues of these titles and more in our current periodical reading room (Floor 2).

American Theatre

New England Theatre Journal

New Theatre Quarterly

Theater (from the Yale School of Drama)

Theatre Notebook (from the London Society for Theatre Research)

Theatre Research International

Theatre Survey (from the American Society for Theatre Research)

Theatre Journal (from the University & College Theatre Association)

Variety

      
     

    How to Find a Journal

    Suppose you have identified an article that you want to read, and know the journal and issue where it was published, but don't know if the library has the journal. The ECSU Journal Locator can tell you if the library has a subscription in print or online format.  When you have online access, the Journal Locator provides a link to a list of issues.

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait