This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Math" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Math 

This is a brief guide to finding information in the field of mathematics.
Last update: Aug 21st, 2009 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/math  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  

About MathSciNet

MathSciNet: Mathematical Reviews on the Web is a database produced by the American Mathematical Society.  MathSciNet provides a comprehensive index to mathematical literature world-wide. 

MathSciNet developed from the print publication Mathematical Reviews, which provides brief reviews of articles, books, proceedings, and other literature in mathematics. Each review in MathSciNet also provides a link to the article being reviewed, if the article exists in online format.  However, you can view only those articles to which the library has purchased a subscription. 

To search for reviews on a particluar topic, you can enter keywords in the "Anywhere" box under the Publications tab.  Items in the result or "headline" list  begin with the MR number, which is a unique number assigned by MathSciNet indexers.  In addition to review items your result list may contain entries for articles or other items that do not have reviews.  These items are called "Database Expansion Items."  Database Expansion Items are usually from applied statistics and other areas outside the core coverage of MathSciNet. They have been added to the database to increase the scope of coverage. 

Other ways to search MathSciNet include using its special subject classification scheme or searching by author name or journal title.  You can also search for author and journal citations.  An author citation search tells you how many times an author is cited in the database and lists the author's most cited publications.  For each of the author's publications, you can view a list of citing publications.

  For more information about searching MathSciNet, consult the Help provided by the database.

 

 

 

Math Journals

Listed below are some math journals to which the library subscribes.  The library has access to additional journals in math and related fields through journal collections such as Jstor and Project Muse.  To check whether the library has access to a particular journal, you should look up the journal title in the Journal Locator (see the box "How to Find a Journal").

American mathematical monthly : the official journal of the Mathematical Association of America
Chance
College mathematics journal : an official publication of the Mathematical Association of America
Consortium 
Experimental mathematics
Fibonacci quarterly 
Journal of computers in mathematics and science teaching
Mathematical gazette
Mathematical intelligencer
Mathematics magazine
Pentagon 
SIAM review
UMAP ILAP modules : tools for teaching 
UMAP journal  

 

How to Find a Journal

Suppose you have identified an article you want to read and know the journal and issue where it was published, but don't know if the library has the journal. The ECSU Journal Locator can tell you if the library has a subscription in print or online format.  When you have online access, the Journal Locator provides a link to a list of issues.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait