Requesting Library Instruction - Library Liaisons & Builders
To Request Library Instruction, Please Fill Out The Online Form
Library Liaison and Collection Builder List PDF Below
Contact your Library Liaison for collaboration and assistance to use our resources and plan effective library research projects.
To request a library purchase (Book, Video), please contact the Collection Builder for your Department.
Reciprocal Borrowing Program CCALD: The Council of Connecticut Academic Library Directors (CCALD) is a statewide consortium of academic library directors, working together to improve services and access to resources through cooperation. Connecticut academic libraries enrolled in CCALD/CLC Reciprocal Borrowing Program have agreed to extend full borrowing privileges to faculty and staff of other participating institutions. Participants agree to all the terms in the Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement. Please see the list of participating libraries from the link.
Library Resources & Services for Faculty
Browse our Library web pages for additional information or Ask a Librarian.
Borrowing: Faculty may borrow up to 50 library items at any one time for up to 120 days and may renew an item twice. (Videos can be borrowed for 3 weeks with no renewals and books in the "Leisure Reading" collection can be borrowed for a total of 28 days with 2 renewals) Faculty members may also designate another person to check out materials on their behalf (see "Proxy Borrower Authorization Form" under Policies/Procedures box above). Borrowing privileges only apply to Eastern and not the CSU system. Each library has its own borrowing policies.
· Course Reserves: Link to Placing Course Materials on Reserve
· Databases (If off-campus, type in your username and password to authenticate. See Login box below for an example.)
· Link to Journal Locator (The Journal locator will help you determine if we have a newspaper, journal or magazine in the library or if there is access within our databases)
Plagiarism, Citation, Evaluation of Sources, Academic Assistance for Students
SafeAssign is a free plagiarism detection tool that integrates with the Blackboard Learn course system. It allows faculty and students to check work against a comprehensive index of documents available through the Internet.
Statements for Syllabi
Eastern's Policies on Academic Misconduct - Students should read and understand Eastern’s Academic Misconduct Policy, which can be found in the Eastern Student Handbook at http://ecsu-svkb2.easternct.edu/index.php?View=entry&EntryID=307 Students are expected to take personal responsibility for their intellectual work and to respect and acknowledge the ideas of others. Academic honesty means doing one’s own work and giving proper credit to others whose work and thought are drawn upon. It is the responsibility of each student to become familiar with what constitutes academic dishonesty and plagiarism, and to avoid all forms of cheating and plagiarism. Students may not engage in any form of academic misconduct, and are responsible for learning how to present the ideas of others in their own work, and avoid all other forms of academic misconduct. For current documentation practices, consult the instructor or a style manual (e.g., APA, MLA). All violations will be handled under the procedures established in the Academic Misconduct Policy. From the Director of Judicial Affairs, Angelo Simoni: Please strongly consider placing this statement about academic misconduct in your class syllabus. Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Academic Services Center (ASC) - A statement you can place in your syllabi about free services at the ASC: “Students are encouraged to use the support offered by the Academic Services Center (ASC) located on the ground floor of the Library. Advising Services and tutoring in math, writing, and other subjects, including supplementary instruction, are available. The ASC also offers assistance in study techniques, time management and understanding learning styles. Fall 2016 hours: (Tutoring) Sun. 2-9; M.-Th. 9-9, Fri. 9-5., Sat. Closed; (Advising) M.-Th. 9-7, Fri. 9-5. Sat.-Sun. Closed. For further information call 465-4310 or check the ASC website at http://www.easternct.edu/asc/. . From Director William M. Bisese, Academic Services Center
· Citing Sources(Tutorials, Guides, & Citation Machines)
· Annotated Bibliography from Purdue Owl with links to citation formats APA, MLA, Chicago
Please make use of this special page of library information directed to students taking classes online. It answers many questions the students will have about library resources, services, and research at Smith Library. For ease of access, this page would be helpful to place within your Blackboard Learn 9 courseware. Due to distance, many students taking classes online often do not visit the library and rely on knowing how to access their library needs online.
You can also add a link to the library Research Guides in your courseware. These subject-specific guides will help students locate books, articles and reliable websites within a specific field of study.
To access databases when off-campus, to request items in our library catalog CONSULS and to access course reserves online --- you will need to authenticate by typing in your Eastern Username and Password. The same one you use to log on to Eastern computers. (LastName,First Initial and your password). Be sure to select "Eastern Connecticut State University" from the dropdown selection.
If you find a book in our CONSULS online catalog and it is at one of the other CSUs or the State Library in Hartford, you can "Request" it and we can have it available for you at our Ciruculation Desk within a few days. Click "Request" in CONSULS and login.
If you have the title of a journal, newspaper or magazine, use this link to see if we have access to the articles in print to view in the library or searchable in our databases. Search by title or browse by subject. If we do not have access to the full print of an article that you need, please use our Interlibrary Loan.
Find a journal, newspaper or magazine by the title: Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare - This will show you the access we have whether in print or from our databases.
Browsing by Subject: Social Sciences