If You Are Working From Home...
Your tuition dollars pay for our very expensive databases. They contain reliable and helpful information so they are well worth using!
If you are using our databases from anywhere other than the Eastern campus, you will have to enter your University ID number and library PIN CODE.
Click on this PIN CODE link for instructions.
How to Find Out If the Library Owns a Journal
Search the ECSU Journal Locator to find out what journals are available to Smith Library researchers, whether in print or online. The Journal Locator provides links to both full-text journals in databases and individual online journals (if the library has a subscription). The Journal Locator’s link for print holdings takes you to the CONSULS record, which indicates what years and issues of the journal the library owns.
Health and Physical Education Journals in Print: Current issues of journals and magazines are shelved on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, and older, bound issues and microforms (microfiche or microfilm) are on the 1st floor, behind the Curriculum Center. They are shelved in alphabetical order by title.
Recommended Databases
The most useful research database for Health and Physical Education is:
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (online; access from library's Database A-Z list)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text, which is produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre, is generally the best database to begin a search for magazine and journal articles on topics related to sports and sports medicine. The SPORTDiscus with Full Text database indexes over 400 journals and provides full text from about 230 of these journals. Topics covered by SPORTDiscus with Full Text include: sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, and public health. SPORTDiscus with Full Text is updated monthly.
In addition to articles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text indexes books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and scholarly dissertations.
Other databases that may be helpful:
Education Full Text (online; access from library's Database A-Z list)
Education Full Text is produced by the H. W. Wilson Company. The database provides indexing of about 750 periodicals in a broad range of educational specialties, including physical education. Of the 750 or so periodicals covered, over 450 are peer-reviewed publications and over 350 include the complete articles. Full text goes back as far as 1996, with indexing back as far as 1983. All article citations include abstracts. Education Full Text is updated daily.
ERIC (online; access from library's Database A-Z list)
ERIC stands for Education Resources Information Center and is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), which is part of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to citations (with abstracts) for over 1.2 million journal articles and other materials in the field of education, including physical education, extending back to 1966. ERIC indexers are currently indexing about 600 journals. ERIC also contains a small collection of full-text materials. Types of materials included in ERIC are: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other materials. ERIC is updated monthly.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more. With easy-to-find answers via an intuitive and customizable interface, Health & Wellness Resource Center is the first-stop resource for consumers of all ages and skill sets.
Health Reference Center Academic
A multi-source database providing access to the full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Also includes videos of medical procedures and surgeries.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe (online; access from library's Database A-Z list)
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe provides full-text articles and other documents from over 5,600 sources in the areas of national and international news, business, law, and medicine. Sources include: newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news and law reviews, business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news. Lexis Nexis Academic Universe is a good source for up-to-date information about sports events and the business of sports. The database is updated daily.
In addition to the databases listed above, there are many others that could be useful for researching topics in health and physical education. You can get a brief description of each of the library's databases by viewing its About page located to the right of the database name in the A-Z listing of databases. Some suggested databases to try are: ABI/INform Global, Academic OneFile, and Academic Search Premier.
The Article I Need is Not in the Database!
Has your professor suggested using specific journals for your research assignments? Use our Journal Locator to learn if the journal is in one of our online databases or in print.
Click on the Journal Locator link above and type in the journal or newspaper title. The results screen will display the information with links to the databases.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait