This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology 

This is a brief guide to finding information in the field of psychology.
Last update: Aug 21st, 2009 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/psy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  

Research Databases for Psychology

The databases listed below are usually the best ones to search for articles on psychology topics.  Many of the articles referenced in these databases, however, will not have a link to view them online.  Use the Article Linker link to find out if the library has online access through a different source or owns the print journal. 

  • MEDLINE  
    MEDLINE is a database of article citations and abstracts (brief summaries) that is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE contains records for journal articles in the fields of medicine, biological and physical sciences, dental medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied and public health, and the health care system. MEDLINE is a very large database with records for articles from over 4,800 biomedical journals. You can search MEDLINE by keyword or by subject.
  • PsycARTICLES  
    PsycARTICLES contains the full-text (in PDF format) of articles from over 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). The coverage runs from 1985 to present.

  • PsycINFO  
    PsycINFO is a large database of citations and abstracts (not full-text) to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related fields. Although PsycINFO itself does not provide articles, it does contain links to articles in some other databases, including PsycARTICLES. PsycINFO offers both basic and advanced search screens that let you apply limits, and perform keyword searches and subject searches (using the headings from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms).
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
    The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is part of Thomson’s Web of Science. SSCI provides bibliographic coverage (with abstracts) of over 1,700 scholarly social sciences journals, as well as selected entries for articles from approximately 3,300 additional journals in the fields of science and technology. Although you can search the database by topic, SSCI is best known for providing a special type of searching known as “cited reference searching.” A tutorial is available.
 

How to Find a Journal

Suppose you have identified an article you want to read and know the journal and issue where it was published, but don't know if the library has the journal. The ECSU Journal Locator can tell you if the library has a subscription in print or online format.  When you have online access, the Journal Locator provides a link to a list of issues.

 

How to Find Test Info in PsycINFO

To find information about psychological tests in PsycINFO: PsycINFO's Help recommends that you start by searching the database for the name of the test. Test names appear in both the Abstract field of PsycINFO records and in the Tests & Measures field. If the document includes the actual test in its entirety, the test is marked as "Appended" in the Tests & Measures field.

To perform a search on individual fields, use Advanced Search.  The Advanced Search screen lets you enter the name of a test and specifiy the field to search from a drop-down menu.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait