This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Philosophy Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On the WebWeb Resources

Admin Sign In 

Philosophy Research Guide 

Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/content.php?pid=50320  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Finding Journal Articles

First: Identify articles by searching in an indexing database:  search by subject or author to find references to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in multi-author books (anthologies).

The best, most complete, database for Philosophy is The Philosopher's Index which can help you find articles on philosophical topics but won't include the articles themselves. 

Some big, general knowledge, databases also cover philosophy, including Academic Search Premier. This big research database covers many topics, including philosophy, and it can be searched at the same time as Humanities Index International and SocIndex, which might also be useful for your project (click on the link saying "Choose Databases" above the search box).

Other general databases or those focused on related fields will also include articles of interest to philosophers.  For example, for a study of feminist philosophy, Gender Watch could be useful; for philosophical themes in literature, try searching the MLA International Bibliography; or for a paper related to social theory, try Sociological Abstracts.  See the full A to Z List of databases for other ideas.

Citations vs. Full-text: These databases might include citations (references to articles), abstracts of articles, or the full-text of articles.  If you do not find the full-text in electronic form right way, save the citations and then use:

This tool lists all journals that are available to Smith Library researchers. all whether in print or online.  For online/electronic sources, follow the links to the right volume and issue.

 

 
 

Philosophy Journals in Print

finding journals: If you know the title of the journal you are looking for go to the:

The ECSU Journal Locator

This tool lists all journals that are available to Smith Library researchers. all whether in print or online.  For online/electronic sources, follow the links to the right volume and issue. You can also use these links to read the journals off-campus using your student ID number and library PIN (see the Getting Started link from the library's homepage for help with that).

Philosophy journals in print:

Current issues of journals and magazines are shelved on the 2nd (main) floor of the library, and older, bound, issues and microforms (microfiche or microfilm) are on the 1st floor, behind the Curriculum Center.  They are shelved in alphabetical order by title.

Some philosophy journals to browse:

American Philosophical Quarterly

Canadian Journal of Philosophy

Diogenes

Hypatia

Journal of the History of Ideas

Journal of the History of Philosophy

Journal of Philosophy

Philosophy East and West

The Philosophical Review

Philosophy Today

 
 

Philosophy Journals Online

Many of our electronic databases include articles of interest to philosophers.  The library also has access to Project Muse and JSTOR, which are both collections of traditional academic journals that been converted to electronic format. Some titles overlap. In those cases, Project Muse will have the most recent articles, while JStor will have older articles.

See Project Muse Philosophy Journals here. You can also browse other topics or use their search feature.

See JSTOR Philosophy Journals. You can browse JSTOR as you might print journals on a shelf, or use the search function.

For a list of peer-reviewed, open access journals in philosophy, freely available on the Internet, see the listing provided the Directory of Open Access Journals at http://www.doaj.org/ljbs?cpid=15.  This directory currently lists 20 titles; you can browse other subjects, too.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait