This is the "Finding Popular Artists and their Work" page of the "About the Artist" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About the Artist  

Finding Monographs, Articles, Biographies, Exhibition Catalogs, Images, Museums & Galleries
Last Updated: May 16, 2017 URL: http://easternct.libguides.com/artists Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Popular Artists and their Work Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books About Artists in the Catalog

Use Quick Search and set your search scope to Eastern Catalog or CSCU Library Consortium.

Try a "Keyword" or "Subject" search to find books about a particular artist.

Use ADVANCED SEARCH. For criticisms about an artist's work, use a "Subject" search with the artist's last name, first name and add criticism and interpretation.

Notice the location, call number and availablity. If the item is located at the other CSU libraries, you can "request" it online and we will have it for you in a few days.

See the links below for examples:

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Browsing Our Shelves

Most art materials have call numbers that begin with "N".  The N section is divided by medium:

  • N - Visual Arts
  • NA - Architecture
  • NB - Sculpture
  • NC - Drawing, Design, Illustrations
  • ND - Painting
  • NE - Print Media
  • NK - Decorative Arts
  • NX - Arts in General

Click on any of the subclasses of Visual Arts in the below link for more defined subjects. You can then browse the 3rd Floor to find specific books. Example: Click on Subclass NE for Print Media and find exactly where to look in the stacks for books about Lithography: NE2250-2570 Lithography

 

More In-depth Research

Launched in May 2014, the Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment. Researchers may search within this specialized subset of Worldcat data to hone in on a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art libraries.

      
     

    Exhibition Catalogs

    The best way to find exhibition catalogs that are held in either the Smith Library or the other CSU libraries is to do a "Keyword" search. Type in the words exhibition (or exhibtion*) catalog.

    Notice the location, call number and availablity. If the item is located at one of the other CSCU libraries, you can "request" it online and we will have it for you in a few days. You need to log in to Quick Search.

    For exhibition catalogs about a particular artist, do a "Keyword" search and type catalog* and the artist's name.

    Finding Books About Themes in Art in CONSULS

    If looking for a particular theme or motif in works of art, do a "Subject" search in our library catalog. Type in the name of your theme along with the phrase in art. See examples below. (Some how-to books might also be included in the search)

    Finding Articles about Artists

    Here are just a few of our databases to use to look up articles. Just type in the artists name. You can also use the term artist or sculpture, etc. For very new or relatively unknown artists, you may need to find their official website to learn about them.

    • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) (researchIT CT)
      Full-text articles in many subject areas including humanities and the arts.
    • JSTOR
      Full-text articles, scholarly journal coverage in many subject areas including the humanities and the arts. Suggest using the "Advanced Search" for more options to refine your search as well as select dates of coverage since some content goes back to the 1800s.
    • JSTOR Research Guide for Art & Art History Resources
    • Newspapers: US Newsstream (researchIT CT)
      ProQuest National Newspaper packages provide your library with online access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. The titles in ProQuest National Newspapers offer researchers coverage of local, national, and international events.
    • Oxford Art Online - 3 USERS at a time.
      FIND ARTIST BIOGRAPHIES HERE. An art encyclopedia with full text entries on the visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography from ancient times to the present day. Also includes some images.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip